Adding or removing labs in a class

Labs can be added or removed before the class begins and while the class is in progress.

Notes

  • You must own the class or be an administrator to add or remove labs in a class.
  • Labs cannot be added while the class is busy or after the class ends.
Contents

Add labs to a class

  1. Navigate to the Class details page.

    class details

  2. In the Labs section, click Add Labs.
  3. Enter the number of additional labs you want to create.

    The maximum number of labs you can add is determined by the course settings.

  4. Click Add.
  5. (Optional) Edit the lab name(s). The lab name appears in both the student portal and the class management view. class mamangement view
  6. Click Save at the top of the screen.

The next action depends on the class status:

Class status

Action

Scheduled

N/A. The additional lab environments will be provisioned with the rest of the class lab environments (based on the class settings and start time).

Environments provisioned

The new lab environments are immediately provisioned using the current course settings. The lab environments will be run with the rest of the class lab environments (based on the class settings and start time).If the current course settings changed after the class was provisioned, the new labs may use a different template, have different VM permissions, or have different custom content than the rest of the labs in the class.

Lab environments ready

or

In progress

The new lab environments are immediately provisioned using the current course settings and run.

If the current course settings changed after the class was provisioned, the new labs may use a different template, have different VM permissions, or have different custom content than the rest of the labs in the class.


Notes

If there is an error on a lab:

  • The lab-level error is visible from the class management view.
  • A retry button appears on the lab. The retry button deletes the current lab environment and creates a new one in its place. Do not use this button unless you want to destroy the current lab environment. destroy

For help resolving lab errors, see the Troubleshoot issues with classes or lab environments.

Remove labs from a class

  1. Navigate to the Class details page.

    class details

  2. In the Labs section, click X to remove a lab. lab details
  3. Click Save at the top of the screen.

If the lab had already been provisioned, it is immediately deleted.

If a student tries to access an environment after is has been deleted, Skytap displays the following message:

classroom deleted message