Managing access to the Classrooms extension

After your Skytap customer account is enabled for Classrooms extension, all of the administrators in your Skytap account are given full access to the Classrooms extension.

Optionally:

  • Administrators can give Skytap standard users and user managers access to Classrooms extension.
  • Classrooms extension users and administrators can give instructors access to the class management view of a single class.
    • This level of access is best for people outside of your organization who do not need access to your Skytap account. These users can use and control lab environments through the class management view; they cannot create or edit courses or classes.
    • For instructions, see Share access to the class management view.
Contents

Give a Skytap user access to the Classrooms extension

You must be a Skytap administrator to give a Skytap user access to the Classrooms extension

To add Classrooms extension access for a standard user or user manager
  1. Navigate to the Edit User page for the user.

    admin edit users

  2. In the optional user permissions at the bottom, select This user is able to create courses and schedule classes.
  3. Click Save Changes.

User permissions in the Classrooms extension

Skytap administrators have full access to all courses and classes within Classrooms extension.

Skytap users and user managers have more limited access, as described below.

    Skytap user role
Classrooms extension permission Administrator Standard user, user manager
Create courses from templates you own or have access to
Schedule classes from all courses, including courses created by others
View all courses and classes, including classes created by others
Access the class management view for all classes, including classes created by others
Edit and delete courses and classes you created
Edit and delete courses and classes created by others  

If you are working with contractors or other third parties, you can further restrict their user access. For each user:

  • Edit the user account settings to remove the user’s permission to import VMs, export VMs, and access public templates and assets.
  • Do not add the user to any projects in Skytap.

With these settings, the user cannot own or have access to templates in Skytap. This means the user cannot create courses in the Classrooms extension.

Share access to the class management view

During the class provisioning stage, the Classrooms extension automatically creates a class management view access link you can share with instructors.

  1. Navigate to the Class details page.

    class details

  2. Click Copy class URL to copy the access link and access code, or click (Mail) to load a default email message in your email client. The instructor email contains the class management view access link and information about the class (including the class start date and time).

    class action link

    Notes

    • The class access link is formatted with the class URL and the access code. For example:

      https://cloud.skytap.com/instructor/1234?access_code=abcdefg1234567hijlkmn8901234o

    • This access link does not provide access to the Classrooms extension. The instructor must work closely with a Skytap user to check class details, add and remove labs, or resolve errors with the lab environments.

For information about the operations you can perform in the class management view, see Use the class management view to deliver the class.

Removing a Skytap user’s access to the Classrooms extension

  1. (Recommended) Delete any classes and courses owned by the user.
  2. Navigate to the Edit User page for the user.

    admin edit users

  3. In the optional user permissions at the bottom, uncheck This user is able to create courses and schedule classes.
  4. Click Save Changes.

This action removes the user’s access to the Classrooms extension. It does not remove any courses or classes owned by the user and it does not reassign courses and classes to a new owner.

Deleting a Skytap user who owns classes or courses

At this time, you cannot delete a user who owns classes or courses. Skytap displays the following error message when you try to delete the user: This user may not be deleted until they are removed from all existing courses and classes.

To remove the user’s access to all of Skytap: