Using the Learning Console in preview mode

When you use the Course Manager Learning Console in preview mode, Course Manager doesn’t record your Manual activity, or display it on the lab end user’s Activity page or the event Activity Summary page.

You can view a lab end user’s Learning Console in preview mode only if the user has access to a Manual.

Contents

Viewing the Learning Console in preview mode for an event participant

To view the Learning Console in preview mode for an event participant
  1. In the Course Manager navigation bar, click Events. The Events page displays.
  2. Click one of the following tabs:

    • In Progress – For an event currently in progress.
    • Upcoming – For an event in the future.
  3. Click the name of the event. The event details page displays.
  4. On the event details page, click the Participants tab.
  5. Choose one of the following to display the event participant’s Learning Console in preview mode:

    • Click preview (Preview) next to the participant name in the Instructors or Students section.
    • Click the drop-down menu next to the participant name in the Instructors or Students section, and then click Open user link (preview).

Viewing the Learning Console in preview mode for an on-demand lab

To view the Learning Console in preview mode for an on-demand lab
  1. In the Course Manager navigation bar, click All Labs. The Labs page displays.

    The term Lab in the Course Manager interface is configurable for your account and may be replaced by another term such as Demo.

  2. Click the Active tab.
  3. Choose one of the following to display the lab’s Learning Console in preview mode:

    • Click preview (Preview) next to the lab name.
    • Click the drop-down menu next to the lab name, and then click Open user link (preview).

    You can also Open user link (preview) from the Lab actions drop-down menu on the details page for a lab.

Using preview mode

When you view the Learning Console in preview mode
  • A banner displays at the top of the Manual to show that your actions aren’t being recorded and won’t display on the lab end user’s Activity page or the event Activity Summary page.

    preview banner

    Notes

    • Click the link in the banner to switch to the lab end user's view of the Learning Console and begin recording your Manual activity.
    • To close the Learning Console preview without switching to the lab end user's view, close the browser tab.
  • You can visit all pages in the Manual, even if lab end users can’t visit some pages until they execute commands or answer questions in the Manual.
  • If you click commands in the Manual, the icons don’t update (but the commands are executed in the VMs).
  • You can’t click mark done & continue (Mark Done & Continue), mark done (Mark Done), mark not done (Mark Not Done), or continue (Continue) in the Manual.
  • You can’t answer questions in the Manual.
  • If the lab end user’s Manual hasn’t been accessed except in preview mode:

    • The progress indicator next to the lab end user’s name on the event details or Labs page displays Manual not yet accessed when you hover over it, and the lab end user’s Activity page displays no activity.

      manual not yet accessed

    • If you publish updates to the Manual, the lab end user sees the updates.
    • If you mark a Manual inactive, the lab end user doesn’t have access to it.

Notes

  • Preview mode applies on a per lab basis across all windows within a browser.
  • For information about using the Manual in the Learning Console as a lab end user, see Using the Manual in the Learning Console.