Deleting or deactivating users

  • Administrators and user managers can deactivate users. User managers cannot deactivate administrators.
  • Only administrators can delete accounts.
Contents

Deactivating vs. deleting

Deleting a user is a permanent action that can’t be undone. Before you delete a user account, considering deactivating it.

  • Deactivated users can’t sign into Skytap, but their accounts and account details are preserved and can be reactivated later.
  • A deactivated user still owns all of his or her resources, which lets you reassign ownership of each resource over time, instead of having to reassign all resources at the moment the account is deleted.

Deactivating or deleting a user account

To deactivate or delete a user
  1. In the navigation bar, click Admin > Users.
  2. The Users page displays. Click expand options (Expand options) next to the user you want to deactivate User Page

    Deleting a user is a permanent action. You cannot undo this action. After the user is deleted, the user account no longer appears on usage reports.

  3. If prompted, select another user to reassign the user resources to; then click Reassign Resources and Delete User. Reassign Resources and Delete User

Deactivate or delete multiple users

To deactivate or delete multiple users
  1. In the navigation bar, click Admin > Users.
  2. The Users page displays. Click the multiselect button. Checkboxes and additional action buttons display. Users Multi-Select Option

  3. Check the users you want to deactivate or delete.
  4. Click Deactivate or Delete in the multiselect toolbar.

    Deleting a user is a permanent action. You cannot undo this action.

Reactivating a user

For instructions, see Resending a user activation link.