Adding and removing project environments

Choose environments to share with project users and remove old environments when they’re no longer necessary.

Contents

Adding environments to a project

After you create a project, you can add environments to it. These environments are shared with the users you add to the project.

Notes

  • You can add environments that you own, public environments, and environments from other projects where you are an editor, manager, or owner.
  • Only project editors, managers, and owners can add resources to the project.
To add environments
  1. Navigate to the project details page.

    1. From the navigation bar, click Projects. The Projects page displays.
    2. Click My to display a list of the projects you own, or Company to display the projects you are a member of. Projects Page
    3. Click the name of the project. The project details page for this project displays.

      Project details page

  2. Click the Environments tab. A list of the environments that belong to the project displays.
  3. Click add environment (Add Environments to project) to display a list of available environments.
  4. Click Add next to the environments you want to add it to the project.
  5. When you’ve finsihed adding environments to the project, click done

    There is no limit to the number of environments that you can add to a project.

Removing environments from a project

To remove an environment
  1. Navigate to the project details page.

    1. From the navigation bar, click Projects. The Projects page displays.
    2. Click My to display a list of the projects you own, or Company to display the projects you are a member of. Projects Page
    3. Click the name of the project. The project details page for this project displays.

      Project details page

  2. Click the Environments tab. A list of the environments that belong to the project displays.
  3. Click remove next to the environment that you want to remove.

    Removing an environment from a project doesn’t delete the environment; it’s still available for use.

How project membership is saved in environment and template settings

In general:

  • Project membership is applied when you copy an environment in a project. The new environment is automatically added to the same project (assuming you have permission to add resources to that project).
  • Project membership is not automatically applied when you create an environment from a template in a project or save an environment in a project as a template. The new environment or template can be manually added to the project using the directions above.
To retain project membership in an environment created from a template in a project
  1. Navigate to the project details page.

    1. From the navigation bar, click Projects. The Projects page displays.
    2. Click My to display a list of the projects you own, or Company to display the projects you are a member of. Projects Page
    3. Click the name of the project. The project details page for this project displays.

      Project details page

  2. Click the Templates tab.
  3. Click the name of a template. The template details page displays. create environment from teomplate
  4. Click New Environment.

See also