Understanding project roles

Each user has a specific role within a project. Project roles are similar to user roles but apply only within a project. For more information about user roles, see User roles and access permissions.

The Owner is the person who created the project. When other users are added to the project, they are assigned one of four project roles: Viewer, Participant, Editor, or Manager, with the permissions described below.

Notes

  • When you delete a project, other project members lose access to the resources from the project.
  • Assets, environments, and templates can be removed from a project but not permanently deleted.

Project role permissions for different Skytap user roles

Depending on your Skytap user role, project role permissions can vary. See the user roles below for details about how user roles and project roles interact.

Restricted

Though a restricted user can’t create a project, another user can give ownership of an existing project to a restricted user. For more information about changing the owner of a project, see Changing the owner of an environment, template, project, or asset.

Viewer Participant Editor Manager Owner Can do this
Access and use a running environment
Download assets
  Control the power state of an environment
  * Create an environment from a project template
  * Copy environment
    Copy template
    Load an ISO
    Save environment as a template
    Add, edit, and remove resources
    Share resources with other projects
(as Editor or Manager in both projects)
    Permanently delete VMs
      Add and remove people
        Delete the project
          Change project permissions
          Permanently delete environments, templates, and assets that are in the project and owned by other users

* The restricted user must be an editor or manager in at least one project to perform these actions as a participant. For example, if the user is a participant in project A and an editor in project B, the user can create an environment from a template in project A. The new environment is automatically added to project B (where the user has permission to add resources). Restricted users cannot own environments, templates, or assets outside of a project.

Standard

Viewer Participant Editor Manager Owner Can do this
Access and use a running environment
Download assets
  Control the power state of an environment
  Create an environment from a project template
  Copy environment
  Copy template
    Load an ISO
    Save environment as a template
    Add, edit, and remove resources
    Share resources with other projects
    Permanently delete VMs
      Add and remove people
        Delete the project
          Change project permissions
          Permanently delete environments, templates, and assets that are in the project and owned by other users

User Manager

Viewer Participant Editor Manager Owner Can do this
Access and use a running environment
Download assets
  Control the power state of an environment
  Create an environment from a project template
  Copy environment
  Copy template
    Load an ISO
    Save environment as a template
    Add, edit, and remove resources
    Share resources with other projects
    Permanently delete VMs
      Add and remove people
        Delete the project
          Change project permissions
          Permanently delete environments, templates, and assets that are in the project and owned by other users

Administrator

Viewer Participant Editor Manager Owner Can do this
Access and use a running environment
Download assets
Control the power state of an environment
Create an environment from a project template
Copy environment
Load an ISO
Save environment as a template
Copy template
Add, edit, and remove resources
Share resources with other projects
Permanently delete VMs
Add and remove people
Delete the project
Change project permissions
Permanently delete environments, templates, and assets that are in the project and owned by other users

See also