Copying an environment

Copying an environment is a powerful action in Skytap. With just a few clicks, you can quickly copy an entire, complex environment, including the VMs, networks, and environment settings. If you need to work with environments in multiple regions, you can easily copy the environment to each region.

Copied environments can be used as backups, as duplicates for continuous integration testing, or as modifiable versions that you can share with other users.

By default, the copied environment is placed in the same region as the source (original). To copy an environment to another Skytap region, see Copying an environment to another region.

After you’ve copied an environment, changes to the copied environment do not affect the source environment. The source and copy are unlinked, separate resources.

Contents

Copying an environment in the same region

You must manually shut down any Power A particular type of CPU that supports IBM i, AIX, and Linux in Skytap Cloud. VMs and x86 VMs with more than 256 GB of RAM before you can copy the environment. Running x86 VMs with 256 GM or RAM or less are automatically suspended during the copy operation.

  1. Navigate to the Environment page.

    Environment Details page

  2. Click Copy in the top toolbar.
  3. The Copy Environment window displays. The current region is selected as the Destination Region. To copy to another region, see Copying an environment to another region.

    Copy Environment Window

    Optionally:

  4. Click Copy. If the source environment was running, Skytap automatically suspends it during the copy process.
  5. The detail page for the new environment displays, but you can’t interact with it until the process is complete.

    • If you leave the copy page or sign out of Skytap, the copy process continues automatically. sends you an email when the copy process is complete.
    • Generally, copying an environment in the same region is faster than copying an environment across regions. For more information, see What to expect when you copy an environment or template.
  6. (Optional) After the copy is complete, restart the source environment (if it was automatically suspended). Skytap does not automatically restart the environment.

Changes to an environment during the copy process

For the most part, a copied environment is a duplicate of the original. Almost all of the environment settings (notes, labels, etc.), VM settings (MAC addresses, hostnames, CPUs, storage, etc.), and network settings (network subnet, gateway IP address, etc.) remain the same.

There are only a few places where the copy differs from the original.

Setting

Change to copied environment

Published services

Skytap creates a new published service that maps the same internal port to a new external port address. For example:

Port 80 open at services-uscentral.skytap.com:12345

changes to:

Port 80 open at services-uscentral.skytap.com:78901

Sharing portals

Skytap creates sharing portals for the new environment with the same settings and new, unique access links.

Public IPs

  • Static public IPs: The VM in the new environment has the same public IP address attached to it. When the same static public IP address is attached to multiple VMs, only one of these VMs can run at a time.
  • Dynamic public IPs with DNS: Skytap automatically generates a new, unique domain name for the VM in the new environment. When the VM is run, Skytap automatically deploys an available public IP address.

Connections to networks in other environments (ICNR)

The network in the new environment is not connected to other networks. To connect it, see Networking between environments.

Schedules

The new environment does not have any schedules. To create one, see Automating actions with schedules.

Automatic power options

The new environment inherits the account-wide automatic power options setting.

Power state

If the VMs in the source environment were running, they are suspended or powered off during the copy operation.

Canceling a copy operation

To cancel the copy operation, click Delete on the right side of the progress bar.