Creating, editing, or deleting a project

Notes

  • When a project is used to share an environment, the usage is charged against the environment owner, not the person using the environment.
  • Your company account can have up to 1,500 projects.
Contents

Creating a project

Any Skytap standard user, user manager, and administrator can create a project.

Restricted users can’t create projects but an administrator or project owner can make a restricted user the owner of a project. For more information about changing the owner of a project, see Changing the owner of an environment, template, project, or asset

To create a project
  1. From the navigation bar, click Projects. The Projects page displays. Projects Page

  2. Click new (New Project).
  3. Type a Project name (all others fields are optional). New Project Window

    • To automatically add all new users to the project:

      1. Click Automatically assign every new user added to your account to this project.
      2. Select the project role that new user accounts are automatically granted. For a description of the project roles, see Understanding project roles.

        Notes

        • This applies only to new Skytap user accounts that are created after this setting is enabled. It does not automatically add existing users to the project.
        • This is usually only configured one time for an account. In most cases, you don’t need to configure this.
        • For more information, see Automatically adding new users to a project.
    • To give any project user access to view the other users in the project, click Allow editors, participants, and viewers to see the user list; otherwise, this information is only available to users with the Manager project role.

  4. Click create Create Project.
  5. For instructions on adding resources and users to the project, see:

Editing a project

You can change the name of a project, its description, the automatic role, and the visibility of the project user names to other users in the project.

To change the owner of a project, see Changing the owner of an environment, template, project, or asset.

To edit a project
  1. Navigate to the project details page.

  2. Change any of these options:

    • Name – Change the project name.
    • Description – Add or change the description for the project.
    • Owner – The owner of a project or an administrator can change the owner of the project. If you do not see this option, you don’t have permission to change the owner.
    • Automatic role – Choose whether new Skytap users should be granted access to this project as part of their account setup.
      • Select No, do not use automatic role if you do not want new users to have access to this project.
      • Select Yes, use automatic role, and then choose a project role if you want new users to have access to this project.

Deleting a project

If you have a large number of projects (your account can have up to 1,500 projects), you may want to delete unused projects.

You must be the project owner to delete a project.

To delete a project
  1. Navigate to the project details page.

  2. Click Delete.