Monitoring your usage with email notifications

Email notifications can help you monitor your personal SVM and storage usage at various thresholds (for example, when you reach 50% of your storage usage limit). You can also set up email notifications to be alerted when a VM has been left running.

If you are an account administrator, you can also create account-level notifications to monitor usage against account limits or by certain users. For more information, see Setting up usage notification emails.

To set up an email notification
  1. Click my account (Go to your account) in the top toolbar of any page. Your account page displays. Account page
  2. In the Account Information section, click Edit my notifications.
  3. The User Notifications page displays.

    User Notifications

  4. Select a Notification Event.

    The Notification Event is the type of usage you’re monitoring. You can select from four options:

    • SVM hours usage is – monitors how many SVM hours you’ve consumed.
    • Storage usage is – monitors how much storage space you’re currently using.
    • Number of SVMs running is – monitors the number of SVMs used by the VMs you’re currently running.
    • VM(s) have been running for ≥ – monitors how long each VM in your account has been running.
  5. Enter a Threshold number.

    The Threshold determines when the notification email should be sent.

    • In most cases, the default threshold is set to 100%. This means you are notified if you reach 100% of your limit for the Notification Event resource (for example, 100% of your storage limit. If you want to receive a notification at a lower threshold (for example, 50% of your storage limit), edit the Threshold %.
    • If the Notification Event is VM(s) have been running for ≥ , set a number of hours, rather than %.
  6. Click Add. The notification is added to your list.
  • You can have up to 100 notifications.
  • For more information about how notifications are triggered, see How usage notifications are delivered.
  • To delete a notification, click delete (Delete) next to the notification.